Faculty

Nick Abend, MD

Associate Professor
Department: Pediatric Neurology
Research Interest: Management of non-convulsive seizures, Management of status epilepticus, Pediatric epilepsy, Video EEG monitoring
website

abend@email.chop.edu

Geoffrey Aguirre, MD, PHD

Associate Professor
Department: Neurology
Research Interest: Neurology, human cortical organization for vision, behavioral neurology
website

aguirreg@mail.med.upenn.edu

Mark Allen, PHD

Professor
Department: Electrical and Systems Engineering
Research Interest: microfabrication and nanofabrication technology
website

mallen@upenn.edu

Vijay Balasubramanian, PHD

Professor Department: Physics and Astronomy Research Interest: String Theory, Particle Physics, High Energy Physics, Neuroscience website

vijay@physics.upenn.edu

Gordon Baltuch, MD, PHD

Professor
Department: Neuroscience
Research Interest: Functional and restorative neurosurgery, Parkinson's disease, Epilepsy
website

baltuch@mail.med.upenn.edu

Mathias Basner, MD, PHD

Professor
Department: Psychiatry
Research Interest: effects of sleep loss on neurobehavioral and cognitive functions, population studies on sleep time and waking activities, and the effects of traffic noise on sleep and recuperation
website

basner@mail.med.upenn.edu

Danielle Bassett, PHD

Professor
Department: Bioengineering
Research Interest: Complex Systems, Network Science, Computational Neuroscience, Systems Biology, Dynamical Systems, Soft Materials, Behavioral Network Science
website

dsb@seas.upenn.edu

Lee Bassett, PHD

Assistant Professor
Department: Electrical and Systems Engineering
Research Interest: Quantum Engineering, Quantum Information Science, Quantum Optics
website

lbassett@seas.upenn.edu

Michael Beauchamp, PHD

Professor
Department: Neurosurgery
Research Interest: neural mechanisms for multisensory integration and visual perception in human subject
website

Michael.Beauchamp@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Anjan Chatterjee, MD

Professor
Department: Neurology
Research Interest: The cognitive neuroscience of spatial attention and representation, the neural basis of language, and the relationship of space and language, neuro-ethics, neuro-aesthetics
website

anjan@mail.med.upenn.edu

Han-Chiao Isaac Chen, MD

Assistant Professor
Department: Neuroscience
Research Interest: Nervous system repair and functional restoration
website

Isaac.Chen@uphs.upenn.edu

Brian Chow, PHD

Associate Professor
Department: Bioengineering
Research Interest: Neuroengineering; Experimental Neuroscience, Optogenetics, Bioengineered therapeutics; devices and drug delivery
website

bchow@seas.upenn.edu

Amanda Christini, MD

COO, Blackfynn, Inc.

amanda@blackfynn.com

Akiva Cohen, PHD

Professor
Department: Pediatrics
Research Interest: Injury-induced altered brain excitability, circuit rearrangement and synaptic function
website

cohena@email.chop.edu

Yale Cohen, PHD

Professor
DepartmentOtorhinolaryngology
Research InterestHead and Neck Surgery

ycohen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Erin Conrad, MD

Instructor
Department: Neurology
website

Erin.Conrad2@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Diego Contreras, MD, PHD

Professor
DepartmentNeuroscience
Research InterestRepresentation of information in corticothalamic networks. Epilepsy.

Jose.Contreras@​uphs.upenn.edu

Branch Coslett, MD

Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research InterestBehavioral/Cognitive Neurology

hbc@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Doug Coulter, PHD

Professor
DepartmentPediatrics
Research Interestepilepsy, hippocampus, circuit imaging, GABA receptors, thalamus

coulterd@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Kacy Cullen, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentNeuroscience
Research Interestneurotrama, neuroengineering

dkacy@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

John Dani, PHD

Professor
Department: Neuroscience
Research Interest: addiction, systems neuroscience, behavior, cholinergic, and dopaminergic

johndani@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Christos Davatzikos, PHD

Professor
DepartmentRadiology
Research InterestBiomedical Image Computing, image analysis, neuroimaging

christos.davatzikos@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

John Detre, MD

Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research Interestmagnetic resonance, brain mapping, cerebral blood flow, brain injury

detre@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Marc Dichter, MD, PHD

Emeritus
DepartmentNeurology
Research InterestEpilepsy, epileptogenesis, cortical physiology, regulation of synaptic function, pharmacology of inhibitory and excitatory amino acid receptors

Marc.Dichter@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

David Dinges, PHD

Professor
Department:Psychiatry
Research Interestphysiological and behavioral effects of sleep deprivation

dinges@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Dennis Dlugos, MD

Professor
DepartmentPediatric Neurology
Research Interest: Epilepsy genetics, Epilepsy surgery, Pediatric epilepsy, Video-EEG monitoring

dlugos@email.chop.edu

David Eckmann, MD, PHD

Professor
DepartmentAnesthesia
Research InterestInterfacial fluid mechanics, bioenergetics, biofluid mechanics, biological fluid dynamics, vascular biology, cardiovascular physiology, cellular mechanics, computational fluid dynamics

David.Eckmann@​uphs.upenn.edu

Steven Eliades, MD, PHD

Assistant Professor
DepartmentOtorhinolaryngology
Research Interestauditory-vocal integration, central auditory processing, and cochlear implant-related central auditory plasticity

seliades@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Colin Ellis, MD

Assistant Professor, Mirowski Scholar
DepartmentNeurology

Colin.Ellis2@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Nader Engheta, PHD

Professor
DepartmentElectrical and Systems Engineering

engheta@ee.upenn.edu

Dwight Evans, MD

Professor
DepartmentPsychiatry

dlevans@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Christopher Fang-Yen, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentBioengineering
Research InterestComputational Neuroscience, Experimental Neuroscience, Medical Imaging and Imaging Instrumentation

fangyen@seas.upenn.edu

Taneeta Mindy Ganguly, MD

Instructor
Department: Neurology
website

taneeta.ganguly@​uphs.upenn.edu

James Gee, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentRadiology
Research Interestbiomedical image analysis and computing

gee@upenn.edu

Maria Geffen, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentOtorhinolaryngology
Research Interestauditory coding

mgeffen@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Michael Gelfand, MD, PHD

Academic Clinical Assistant Professor
DepartmentNeurology

Michael.Gelfand@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Josh Gold, PHD

Professor
DepartmentNeuroscience
Research InterestBehavior, neural activity, computational modeling

jigold@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Sean Grady, MD

Professor
DepartmentNeuroscience
Research Interestmemory dysfunction resulting from traumatic brain injury and minimally invasive neurosurgery

gradys@uphs.upenn.edu

Roy Hamilton, MD

Associate Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research Interestcharacteristics and limits of functional neuroplasticity in the adult human brain

Roy.Hamilton@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Gregory Heuer, MD, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentPediatric Neurosurgery
Research InterestBrachial plexus and peripheral nerve lesions, Brain/spine tumors, Complex spine, Epilepsy surgery, Fetal evaluation and treatment, Functional brain and spine disorders, Hydrocephalus, Spinal dysraphism

heuerg@email.chop.edu

Dan Huh, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentBioengineering
Research InterestBioengineered Therapeutics and Devices and Drug Delivery, Cellular Engineering, Tissue Engineering

huhd@seas.upenn.edu

Bob Hurst, MD

Professor
DepartmentRadiology

Robert.Hurst@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Insup Lee, PHD

Professor
DepartmentComputer and Information Science

lee@cis.upenn.edu

David Issadore, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentBioengineering
Research InterestMolecular Engineering, Cellular Engineering, Cellular and Molecular Imaging

issadore@seas.upenn.edu

Zack Ives, PHD

Department Chair
DepartmentComputer and Information Science
Research Interestdata integration and sharing, managing "big data," sensor networks, and data provenance and authoritativeness

zives@cis.upenn.edu

Frances Jensen, MD

Department Chair
DepartmentNeurology
Research InterestEpilepsy, pathophysiology of epilepsy and stroke, synaptic plasticity, brain development

Frances.Jensen@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Michelle Johnson, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentBioengineering
Research InterestRobot-mediated rehabilitation of dysfunction due to aging, neural disease, and neural injury.

johnmic@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Cheri Kagen, PHD

Professor
DepartmentElectrical and Systems Engineering
Research Interestthe chemical and physical properties of nanostructured and organic materials and integrates these materials in electronic, optoelectronic, optical, thermoelectric and bioelectronic devices

kagan@seas.upenn.edu

Michael Kahana, PHD

Professor
Department: Psychology
Research InterestHuman memory and its neural mechanisms

kahana@psych.upenn.edu

Scott Kasner, MD

Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research Intereststroke, neurocritical care

Scott.Kasner@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Michael Kearns, PHD

Professor
DepartmentComputer and Information Science
Research Interestmachine learning, algorithmic game theory, social networks, algorithmic trading and computational finance, and artificial intelligence

mkearns@cis.upenn.edu

Sudha Kessler, MD

Assistant Professor
DepartmentPediatric Neurology
Research InterestEpilepsy

kesslers@email.chop.edu

Andrew Kofke, MD

Professor
DepartmentAnesthesia and Critical Care
Research Interesteffects and interactions of anesthetics with brain ischemia and epilepsy

kofkea@uphs.upenn.edu

Abba Krieger, PhD

Emeritus
DepartmentStatistics
Research Interestapplications in the law, operations management and marketing, applied probability, bootstrap, complex sample surveys, density estimation, grouped data, observational studies, worst case analysis of heuristics

krieger@wharton.upenn.edu

Daniel Lee, PHD

Professor
DepartmentElectrical and Systems Engineering
Research Interestlearning representations that enable autonomous systems to efficiently reason about real-time behaviors in an uncertain world

ddlee@seas.upenn.edu

Neil Malhotra, MD

Associate Professor
DepartmentNeuroscience
Research Interestrestorative approaches to treat disc degeneration

Neil.Malhotra@​uphs.upenn.edu

Matthew Maltese, MD, PHD

Research Assistant Professor
DepartmentPediatric Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Research Interestoccupant biomechanics in motor vehicle crashes, with particular emphasis on pediatric traumatic brain injury, thoracic biomechanics, and anthropomorphic test device biofidelity

maltese@email.chop.edu

Eric Marsh, MD, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentPediatric Neurology
Research Interest: Developmental Epilepsies, Epilepsy, Infantile Spasms, Malformations of Cortical Development

marshe@email.chop.edu

David Meaney, PHD

Senior Associate Dean
DepartmentBioengineering
Research InterestCellular Engineering, Neuroengineering (molecular ), Neurobiology

dmeaney@seas.upenn.edu

Javier Medina, PHD

Assistant Professor
Research InterestNeural basis of motor learning

jmed@sas.upenn.edu

Christian Murray, PHD

Professor
DepartmentMaterial Science and Engineering
Research Interestsynthesis characterization and integration of nanostructured materials, with an emphasis on the exploration of finite size effects in nanoscale magnets and semiconductors

cbmurray@seas.upenn.edu

Jennifer Phillips-Cremins, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentBioengineering
Research InterestEpigenetics, Genomics, Systems and Synthetic Bioengineering, Experimental Neuroscience, Molecular and Cellular Engineering

jcremins@seas.upenn.edu

David Raizen, MD, PHD

Assistant Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research Interestsleep, ecdysis, molting, behavior, amyloid, neuropeptides

raizen@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Steven Scherer, MD, PHD

Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research Interestpathogenesis of peripheral neuropathies

sscherer@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Yvette Sheline, MD

Professor
DepartmentPsychiatry
Research InterestDepression, stress disorders

sheline@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Russell Takeshi Shinohara, PHD

Associate Professor
Department: Biostatistics and Epidemiology
website

rshi@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Douglas Smith, MD

Professor
DepartmentNeurosurgery
Research InterestNeurotrauma, Brain Injury and Repair

smithdou@upenn.edu

Kathleen Stebe, PHD

Deputy Dean
Department: Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interest: non-equilibrium interfaces, with applications ranging from microfluidics to nanotechnology

kstebe@seas.upenn.edu

Joel Stein, MD, PHD

Assistant Professor
DepartmentRadiology
Research InterestEpilepsy imaging, brain tumors, molecular imaging, small animal imaging and disease models, learning and memory

joel.stein@uphs.upenn.edu

Philip (Jay) Storm, MD

Associate Professor
DepartmentPediatric Neurosurgery
Research InterestPediatric brain tumors, pediatric genetic research, epilepsy

storm@email.chop.edu

Andrew Tsourkas, PHD

Professor
DepartmentBioengineering
Research InterestCellular Imaging, Bioengineered Therapeutics, Devices and Drug Delivery

atsourk@seas.upenn.edu

Jan Van der Spiegel, PHD

Associate Dean
DepartmentElectrical and Systems Engineering
Research Interestanalog and digital integrated circuits for intelligent sensors, data converters, data acquisition and sensory data processing systems

jan@seas.upenn.edu

Charles Vite, PHD

Associate Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research Interestcharacterization and treatment of neurological diseases, naturally-occurring feline and canine models of human diseases

vite@vet.upenn.edu

Joost Wagenaar, PHD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research Interest: novel techniques to acquire, process and analyze neural data; cloud computing to manage large datasets.

joostw@seas.upenn.edu

Beth Winkelstein, PHD

Deputy Provost
DepartmentBioengineering & Neurosurgery
Research InterestBiomechanics, Neuroengineering, Orthopaedic Bioengineering

winkelst@seas.upenn.edu

David Wolk, MD

Associate Professor
DepartmentNeurology
Research Interestepisodic memory processes, aging, Alzheimer's

david.wolk@​uphs.upenn.edu

Daniel Yoshor, MD

Department Chair
Department: Neurosurgery
Research Interest: epilepsy surgery, brain tumors in eloquent locations, pituitary surgery, endoscopic skull base surgery
website

Daniel.Yoshor@​pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Eric Zager, MD

Professor
DepartmentNeuroscience

zagere@uphs.upenn.edu